Yay for Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun #3 for a pribbonacci gathering

This is a parkrun that is all about the people. I was twalking again (walking and talking) but saw a comment from a participant on the Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun Facebook page saying how much they enjoyed their ‘chatty pootle’ so maybe chootling is the way forward? We shall have to wait and see. What is clear, is that this pretty new kid on the block laid on a fabulous welcome at it’s super organised and perfectly accessorised parkrun event. It’s just three today, isn’t that sweet? Yet sassy and confident in it’s delivery, which included not only cheery and cheerful volunteers, and enthusiastic attendees but even glorious sunshine. #livingtheparkrundream. Oh, and a ‘Y’ for alphabet chasers – only the second in actual Europe. Which sort of overlooks the fact that alas, we are part of the EU no more, so don’t really feel all that European anymore to be honest, so really England has the parkrun Y monopoly in this area at present. Spoiling us with both a York and now a Yarborough. There was a Yeovil Montacute parkrun at one point, but that is no more. Only the parkrun, not the place, just to be clear. Wouldn’t want you to think there’d been some sort of top secret annihilation of the town that has been all hushed up, there are more than enough conspiracy theories as it is. Mind you, I’ve never actually been, and now I look Yeovil up on Wikipedia I’m not sure it is an actual real place. Key messages include ‘One symbol of Yeovil is “Jack the Treacle Eater”, a folly consisting of a small archway topped by a turret with a statue on top.’ hmm, see what I mean, and other claims to fame include that ‘Yeovil is known in Thomas Hardy’s Wessex as “Ivell”. … (it) … is the location for the fictional School of Lifemanship in a series of novels by Stephen Potter: Gamesmanship (1947), Lifemanship (1950), One-Upmanship (1952), Supermanship (1958), Anti-Woo (1965) and The Complete Golf Gamesmanship (1968).’ I mean, where would a fictional school be located other than in a fictional town? Quite, just sayin. Also, ‘Montacute’, think about it, how can that be a real name? Kudos to those who did manage to bag a parkrun there though, I’d have thought that was pretty much like timing it right to arrive to join in a jig at Brigadoon once in every centur. Respect to those who found it. Today though, was all about Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun. And jolly splendiferous it was too!

This is a relatively new kid on the parkrun block. As one of only two Ys, the launch must have been a bit scary for the team, but it coped brilliantly with its inaugural event. This is a new event that is within reach of Sheffield, so was on my radar, but I was happy to let it settle in a bit rather than crash the first event, even though I did get wind of it before hand. I hadn’t particularly got a date in mind to head over, but then my new parkrun besties from Huddersfield declared their intention to go today, and as I’ve been experiencing MASSIVE separation anxiety since waving them goodbye last week, it seemed too good an opportunity to pass by. Yep, I’d be there. Despite still feeling a bit broken from all the excitement of last weekend and indeed last week.

I was filming again last week, and had an exhausting day of early call time meaning 4.45 a.m. start to arrive at unit base in time for huge breakfast, hair and make up, then in holding on squidgy sofas so bit of a nap, woke up for long enough to compare conspiracy theories (though puzzlingly, we didn’t get onto whether or not Yeovil actually exists) then played table tennis for first time in decades. Turns out it’s super fun, even if you are terrible at it (me, my opponent used to play in a tt league apparently). Do you remember when Boris madly started calling it wiff – waff? What planet is he on? Mind you, that wasn’t the craziest thing he ever said or did to be fair, so let’s keep things in proportion. Then broke for lunch, more kipping, much hilarity with the other extras, trying to spot ourselves in ‘Better’ watching in on fastforward on iplayer, and crying with laughter at our shadowy figures fleetingly glimpseable in the very back of shots only when the frames were frozen brief half hour on set then realeased by 6.00 p.m. #livingthedream I always think a day where you cry with laughter at work is a good one. Remind me to tell you about the job interview I had with Dogs for the Disabled. Only time I’ve literally wet myself crying with laughter during a job interview. Gawd it was hilarious though… Also, I think this means I am officially a professional table wiff-waff player, on account of the fact I was being paid for playing it. I may yet become part of the sporting elite! Hurrah. Anyway, stop distracting me, or we’ll never get to the start line of Yarborough. Here is a sneak preview, just to keep you on board…

.

.

I would be there at the start, I would meet with Huddersfield friends, it would be magnificent, being further broken is but a small price to pay to hang out with parkrun besties. I would get to wear my giraffe llama leggings all over again. Well, strictly speaking I’ve not taken them off since departing for Poland and our epic trip to parkrun Zielony Jay. Why would I? They are the comfiest thing ever, are linked to happy memories, a much appreciated gift and also, I like giraffes. Then again, I don’t think we should have to justify our clothing choices whoever we are. Want to know what to wear? Have clothes? Have human shaped body? Then put clothes on and voila! Job done! Fancy dress is always a good option though obvs, but more of that later…

Shall we start with the official blah de blah? Just for some context? Yes? Good. So, according to the parkrun website:

Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun is a ‘A free, fun, and friendly weekly 5k community event. Walk, jog, run, volunteer or spectate – it’s up to you!‘ and the event takes place at ‘Yarborough Leisure Centre, Riseholme Road, Lincoln, LN1 3SP.

The course is described thus: ‘The course makes use of the cycling club’s race track. It is three and a bit anticlockwise laps around the perimeter of the Yarborough fields. Flat and wide tarmac all the way around’ so fairly minimalist, but also fairly straightforward. As long as you can count to three and a bit, which to be fair is suprisingly hard on multi-lap courses, no worries, marshals would be bound to help.

The course looks like this:

.

.

All good!

Early start again, and off out. It was exceedingly blustery out, fallen branches and bins going awol. I had a brief moment of angst re driving, all those high sided vehicles being blown around is a bit of a scary thought. Oh well, nothing ventured. Up and out and satnav on. Whilst I was gingerly venturing out, the Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun team were up and at it!

.

.

The drive was actually ok, it was windy but some sunshine and relatively mild, almost spring like. The only real complication was that my satnav took me the most extraordinary route, maybe my bad because I opted for a route which would avoid paying a toll. I’d swear I went via the channel islands, the Isle of Man and an overnight stay in Dover, before arcing up to Glasgow and making my way back down again. I also got stuck behind a tractor for quite a while just outside Aberystwyth, which is fair enough as a tractor can only go as fast as it can go, but was quite stress inducing. Then when my satnav announced ‘you have reached your destination’ I very clearly hadn’t so had a moment of panic. Fortunately, I’d printed out all the directions and there was a bit of detail

Getting there by road – For SATNAV use LN1 3SP – what3words: ///buddy.humble.above

The leisure centre is on the north side of Lincoln. Follow the A46 around to the intersection with the A15 and turn in towards Lincoln on Riseholme Road (B1226). Yarborough Leisure Centre is half a mile on the right signposted Lincoln Castle Academy.

Plentiful free parking is available at the leisure centre.

Well, the what3words didn’t help on account of being person not in possession of smartphone, but just a bit further on from the garage I’d pulled in at was a large entrance, signed for the Lincoln Castle Academy, and you follow road round to see well signed parking for the Yarborough Leisure Centre. It was a bit tighter time wise than I’d have liked and I was concerned I wouldn’t get a space, but Yay! Loads of parking, even at 8.45. There were plenty of parkrunners still arriving, many a tourist buff, and the excited chit chat of gathering participants.

SO EXCITING!

Amongst those a-gathering were my Huddersfield buddies, they took the precaution of doint carpark selfies, it has to be done. I didn’t though, but did try to do some snaps of the little trek to the start. It’s not especially far, but nor is it very obvious. With so many newbies at present, there were cheerful volunteers on hand to guide the way. There was also a high vis hero to gently steer you away from the leisure centre loos. Panic not though, there are alternative loos near the start in a sort of sports hub. It’s just the leisure centre got a bit overwhelmed by precautionary pee-ers the first week so they’ve made this change. There was even a toilet monitor at the sports hub loos to ensure orderly and fair queuing. Give that marshal an ‘other’ running challenges credit immediately, job well done!

.

.

As with all good parties, I met loads of people in the queue for the loos. My Huddersfield humans were just emerging, and then as I exited, good news and lovely surprise, look what I found:

.

.

Yep, that’s actual Yogi! Smarter than the average bear. It was a great surprise, ‘Yogi’ was actually a rather splendid Humber Bridge parkrunner, who is completing her second parkrun alphabet, only this time in fancy dress, as you do. With the fancy dress costume of choice to start with the same initial letter as that of the parkrun, clever eh? Like I said, smarter than the average bear. I have previous with Yogi, as she was a very attentive and supportive tailwalker at Humber Bridge parkrun back in July last year when I was just tentatively trying to return to parkrun as a walker. That was an especially scary and tough time, and in a way, it’s good to be reminded of this. I still despair quite often at my physical limitations, but actually, compared wtih July last year I have made some progress. Only using one stick and a lot less wobbly these days. It’s hard not to dwell on what I still can’t do, but actually there are things I now can. And also, were it not for my having to come back as a walker, I’d have missed out on connecting with many people who are my twalking/ chootling buddies and my life would be the poorer for it. Perspective can help on a bad day, and on a good day like today, I feel genuinely lucky. Portly yes, but lucky too!

Oh, and fyi, there is no pop up sign at this parkrun, so if you want a location photo memento, then the Yarborough leisure centre sign is probably your best bet. This will, over time I’m sure, become the most photographed leisure centre sign in the parkrun world, possibly the actual world. They must wonder what’s hit them! It’s grand it’s in parkwalk colours, the little details are much appreciated…

Fortunately, the other bears in attendance today, are also a lot smarter than average, so no risk of offence there, phew! Bear Running Club is known for its high percentage of mensa members amongst its number. FACT. Probably. Should be really anyway… I certainly think they are all pretty smart, and that’s good enough for me. Just look at them, intelligence, insight and parkrun positivity pretty much visibly oozing out from their very pores!

.

.

After we’d done some meeting and greeting, it was all a-gathering for the first timers’ welcome. To be fair, there were a lot of first timers, it being a new Y and a prime and a fibonnacci number and all. The cheery RD (who is also an ambassador I gather) helped the first timers welcomer onto a raised step and there was a great intro to the event. All were welcomed warmly, including some actual first time everers, who got a huge cheer – and there was also a welcome for a new arrival in every sense. In attendance was a parkrun newbie who had attended inside their mum’s tum (not anatomically correct I know, but I like the rhyme and you get the gist, she hadn’t been eaten or anything) and then burst out into the world on Thursday, and was now in attendance in their own right, wrapped up warm in a pram with happy parents gazing on. That was pretty awesome. I wonder if this is the youngest parkrun attendee to date, and not to have EVER missed a parkrun even prior to arrival is especially spectacular. I’m all for starting parkrun as young as possible, but this newbie newborn takes that to the literal limit. I wonder how many parkruns they’ll get to during their life time. AWESOME!

.

.

Yogi, who incidentally is a paramedic noted that it would be really cool to assist a birth at a parkrun and who can disagree with that. I wonder if you’d still be able to get your finish token scanned afterwards. I suppose it would depend whether or not the tailwalkers held back for you, that would seem fair. And another huge cheer for the tailwalker resplendent in his 100th different event banner, a true cowell, so that was very exciting. He was a bit sneaky in that he removed his sash on the way around after being nearly garrotted with it twice. I know we should really respect everyone’s right to participate in parkun in their own way, so I tried not to be too judgy but it was only nearly garrotted, and don’t they say ‘third time lucky’. Just sayin. It did make it back on for the photos at the end thankfully. Massive phews all round!

.

.

Just checked the results stats, out of 306 participants, there were 223 first timers at this parkrun and 5 first time everers. That’s a lot of newbies. It didn’t feel like a new parkrun though, it ran like clockwork. The numbers didn’t seem to be an issue – perhaps it feels positively quiet after their inaugural turn out of 449!

It was a such a feel good welcome, everyone seemed in really good spirits, the event team seemed unphased by the numbers, people were greeted from all over Kent, Huddersfield, Hull, Doncaster – and there was an Isle of Man Veteran listed on the results. I could have maybe stopped off en route to pick them up if I’d only known. It was all very jolly. The announcing of it being the number 3 event got a huge reaction, prompting a slightly bemused reaction from our meeter and greeter. Audience participation clarified ‘it’s a prime‘, ‘it’s a Fibonnacci’ and – best heckle yet ‘it’s a pribonnacci!’ And they’ve only just got over the shock of being a Y! I gather that this parkrun is one that is delivered by people who genuinely come from the local community, as opposed to existing parkrunners. Maybe this helps it feel so welcoming and inclusive, they seeme happy to have everyone rock up, proud of their venue and committed to ensuring everyone would have a great time, and why wouldn’t we, it was perfect! The crowd listened with enthusiasm, and attentiveness, this was going to be grand!

.

.

and then there was the RD briefing. He gave a shout out for milestones, locations and a nod to the ‘not mad at all’ fancy dress alphabeteer, as he said, why not? Why not indeed. This was the first time I’ve seen the new dark blue Run Director High Vis, I like it, I get that there is loyalty to the striking monochrome, but really, it’s cool. My favourite remains the powder blue parkwalking volly vest, but I was too late to bagsy it for this particular event. Other quicker off the mark parkwalkers having made it onto the roster first. No worries, my turn will come around again, and I’ll get to wear the high vis at junior parkrun tomorrow. Meantime, check out that merch – missed a ‘Dolly or Bev’ shout out moment there methinks…

.

.

The briefings took place a short way from the start line, so there was a mass walk to the start. I was trying to get to the back of the line up so was in fact facing in the wrong direction when everyone started moving forward. That was somewhat discombobulating, but I was able to re-orientate myself and slot in at the back, alongside my various buddies Yogi buddy, parkwalker buddies, tailwalker buddies, lots of company for the party at the back at this parkrun!

.

.

and that was it, we were awf! The start!

OMG you have to check out this Facebook post with a video clip of the start, just brilliant, thanks for taking and posting lovely Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun team, you are The Best!

.

What to say about the course. It’s what it says. A really wide tarmac path track throughout. It makes for a very inclusive surface, easy for buggies, wheelchairs, wobbly walkers, guided runners anyone really because it’s spacious and predictable. You could honestly take a carriage and eight horses round that route, no worries, though I suspect that would count as an assisted run, you’d need to check with the RD, also, don’t take the horse and cart on the running track, that needs to be treated with due reverence. Fair enough.

It was to me a slightly unexpected course in that you are surrounded by houses that back onto it for much of the route, and you go past running track and playing fields and all sorts of sporting amenities. It feels like it’s in quite a built up area, but equally you get glimpses of Lincoln Cathedral at various points on the course. It’s sort of an angular off-set figure of eight. You do the far loopy loop bit twice, then the whole lot three times, so it was a bit confusing as to which lap you are on, whether it is a three lap, four lap or five lap course is hard to say, as it depends what you decide constitutes a lap. Fortunately, there are marshals and signs to assist, and Red Ted was concentrating so able to keep us all on track. There was some outstanding directional pointing going on, some assisted by giant foam hands, always a win at parkrun, and there were juniors on hand to give assistive high fives which was very much appreciated. Massive extra kudos to the local resident who has taken to coming out and giving a cheer to passing parkrunners. This make me a tad emotional, as it reminds me of my mum’s parkrun journey, she started off as a local cheering passing runners, and was adopted by her parkrun family in Bushy park. Check out the reference to Elisabeth’s Corner, marshal point 5 in this run report. I hope that happens here, this woman definitely deserves her own high vis, check out those supportive jazz hands, and friendly disposition, she’s a shoo in as an honorary if not actual marshal!

.

.

We may have struggled a bit with the lap counting, but we did well with the soaking it all up and cheering the other participants side of things. The great joy of having multiple laps, is that you get to see and cheer other people running round, and you are never really alone en route either. |It sort of mixes up all the different speeds of parkrunners in a parkrun potpourri, giving a whole new spin to the concept of parkrun fresh. Fragrant in an altogether different way you see. You spot most people a couple of times at least, and it was all very friendly, and lovely too. I think this is where pictures help. Not mine so much, because my camera needs to retire, but fortunately I’ve freely borrowed from others so you don’t have to. There was an official photographer there too, so hopefully I’ll be adding to this account with other ones in due course, this is the parkrun that keeps on giving!

.

.

So we twalked and chootled and soaked up the atmosphere, and counted the laps, special mention for the intersection which is affectionately known as ‘chaos corner’. Nope, no idea why… good fun though 🙂 You feel like you can see just about everyone at this spot, and the marshal at this point can look one way to see parkrunners scampering around in circles and the other to see a view of Lincoln Cathedral. I know! Splendid.

.

.

and cheered fellow runners and all was right with the world. ‘Suddenly’ we found ourselves approaching the finish. We quickly got in order and processed through with considerable panache if I say so myself. The finish funnel was still surrounded by helpful and cheerful marshals ready to time us in and scan us safely home.

.

.

Thanks, as always, to the amazing volunteer team. And thank you too to my Huddersfield and Humber Bridge parkrun friends. It’s humbling to think of all the people I’ve come to know all over the place, purely because of parkrun. It’s taken me to places I’d never have otherwise visited, and introduced me to brilliant people I’d never otherwise have met. At the end of the day, parkrun really is all about community, for the most part it brings out the best in people, and restores faith in the world. Today was a case in point. Thank you all!

.

.

That was the parkrun part completed, but we still had some quite extensive parkfaffing to do. Particularly we wanted a parkrun photo. We espied some handy steps adjacent to the running trap, and crossed over to pose. This was not the right thing to do apparently, as they are sensitive about who sets foot on this track, something about having the right shoes, and not obstructing runners using the track. Actually, there weren’t any anyway, and we negotiated for a photo op, but maybe be mindful if you are doing the same. We got some fab pics though, and fab memories too, I mean just look at us, in all possible configurations, gawgeous!

.

.

But wait, there was more, then we had to get the obligatory leggings shots:

.

.

and then we had to get the group shot in front of the leisure centre sign. To be fair, it was more arduous than being on set, never had so many cameras pointing at me at one time! Good to capture the memories though, eh?

.

.

We left the team results processing and token sorting in the leisure centre cafe, and went our separate ways. They were happy in their work though, so that’s good.

.

.

and then suddenly, that was that. The end.

But only til next time, obvs. 🙂

.

.

Oh, and as always, if you find yourself at a loose end, you could always browse through all my parkrun related posts here.  Or not.  It’s up to you.  You’ll need to scroll down for older entries though.  But it’s even better if you can get yourself to an actual parkrun near you and experience it for yourself in glorious technicolour.

Thank you Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun people and parkrun buddies, it was grand. I may well pop back here later on with extra pics and a link to the run report for this third event in due course,

oh, hang on here they are – and here is the event report for the day too. For triangulation purposes.

Here is a little smorgasbord of pics, check out the 2 day old parkrunner doing their second parkrun gawgeous, and the lovely high vis heroes. Each as photogenic as the one before, impossible though that is to imagine!

.

.

So for now hey, hey hey and –

That’s all folks!

Categories: 5km, parkrun, walking at parkrun | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Yay for Yarborough Leisure Centre parkrun #3 for a pribbonacci gathering

  1. Peter

    Now I’m jealous that you’ve done Yarborough parkrun and I haven’t – despite having run 5k on that site multiple times! I recommend the LWAC 5k series to anyone looking for a traffic-free UKA approved race.
    I’m still confused why the parkrun route appears to differ from the 5k race route – I need to go and see!
    I hope you worked out on the way home that the 40p Dunham Bridge toll is worth paying?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hiya, good to hear from you. As I have no idea about the 5k race route I cannot enlighten you as to how parkrun differs, but as you say, you’ll have to go and find out! Did I seriously do that diversion for the sake of 40p! That’s hilarious, my bad entirely as no, I didn’t fathom that. It must have cost me more than that in petrol and stress. I’ll know next time. Happy parkrunning, hope you get to do the Y soon. Lx

      Like

  2. “From a journey that took its toll, to a twalk in the park that refreshed the soul” (anon)
    Looks like you had a Yarb-ulous time. Keep on rocking (up to parkrun) !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.